The medical use of donkey milk has a history of over 5500 years. For thousands of years, donkey milk has been known by people for its nutritional values and properties from beauty products. In ancient Egypt, people put donkey milk in medicinal herbs to make medicine especially for children that could be used orally and externally. In fact, Hippocrates, as known as the Father of Western Medicine from ancient Greek, once said that donkey milk could be widely used in treatments for multiple diseases including food poisoning and arthritis. It could also be used to heal cuts and wounds.

 

­Later, the Romans realised that donkey milk was useful in many ways. It was also considered as a symbol of nobility at that time. Women bathed with donkey milk and they started to use it to make skincare products such as extracting essence from donkey milk to make beauty masks themselves. Cleopatra VII Philopator, known to history simply as Cleopatra, the Pharaoh of Ptolemaic Egypt, raised a large amount of donkeys so she could take daily baths in donkey’s milk. Poppaea Sabina, an Empress of the Roman Empire, was also famous for bathing in donkey milk.

 

­Donkey milk is pure white in colour, smoother than milk from cows, which is known as a precious milk product in the nutrition field. It has a low fat content so it tastes sweeter. Donkey milk’s cholesterol content is only a fifth of milk from cows. It is organic, naturally low in fat and cholesterol and has a high nutrition value. Selenium is an element essential for human development and growth, and donkey milk has this element content 5.2 times higher than the milk from cows.

 

Donkey milk is rich in vitamins, minerals, trace elements and essential fatty acids (Omega-6). Omega-6 naturally softens and moisturises the skin, helps to absorb vitamins from donkey milk. The minerals cleanse the skin, remove dead skin and help the growth of cells. Vitamins A, B2, C and E in donkey milk have anti-oxidising properties, which can delay skin aging.

Donkey milk introduction

驢奶介紹

驢奶的醫學效用有超過5500年的歷史。幾千年來,人們在美容用品中已經認識到它的營養價值和特性。早在古埃及,人們已經開始把驢奶加入草藥中製成口服或外用藥劑,尤其適用於兒童。事實上,古希臘「醫學之父」Hippocrates曾說:驢奶可廣泛用於多重疾病的治療,包括食物中毒和關節炎,也可輔助傷口癒合。

 

到古羅馬時期,人們開始注重驢奶的多功效性。驢奶被視為貴族的象徵,女士們首次開始使用驢奶製成護膚品。她們用驢奶沐浴,並從驢奶中提取精華自製美容面膜。埃及艷后Cleopatra養了大量的驢群,如此她便可每天沐浴驢奶中。古羅馬帝國皇后Poppaea都是使用驢奶沐浴的表表者。

 

驢奶均為純白色,比牛奶更順滑,被營養界中稱為奶類珍品,因為它的脂肪含量很少,味道也更為香甜。其膽固醇含量僅為牛奶的五份之一,屬於天然低脂肪、低膽固醇的有機食品,而且營養價值豐富。驢奶的硒含量是牛奶的5.2倍,硒是人體發育和生長不可缺少的物質。

 

驢奶中含有豐富的維他命,礦物質,微量元素和必需脂肪酸(Omega-6). Omega-6自然軟化和滋潤皮膚,幫助皮膚吸收驢奶的維他命。礦物質有助清潔皮膚,去除死皮和促進細胞生長。驢奶中的維他命A,B2,C和E有抗氧化特性,延緩皮膚老化。